State Directors

Curry-Jones jpeg.jpeg

LaToya Curry-Jones
Phone: 803-237-7586


David McDonald Official 2018.jpg

David D. McDonald, Ph.D.

Phone: 864-355-3176 

South Carolina Association for Middle-Level Education

225 Gardenwalk Drive
West Columbia, SC  29170

Phone: 803-261-6117


State Website:

Joined State Program in 2006



Participating Organizations

South Carolina Association for Middle Level Association South Carolina Center for Educational Partnerships- Middle Grades Initiative

South Carolina Department of Education

South Carolina

2020 Schools to Watch®


Batesburg-Leesville Middle School, Batesburg-Leesville 

Beck International Academy, Greenville 

Muller Road Middle School, Blythewood 

Sevier Middle School, Greenville 


Redesignation I

Chapin Middle School, Chapin 

Crayton Middle School, Columbia 

Mid-Carolina Middle School, Prosperity 

Redesignation II

Campobello-Gramling School, Campobello 

Redesignation III

Castle Heights Middle School, Rock Hill 

College Park Middle School, Ladson 

League Academy of Communication Arts, Greenville 

Redesignation IV

Blythwood Middle School. Blythewood 

Palmetto Middle School, Williamston 

South Carolina Schools to Watch®